NEWS & EXPLANATION

After London’s power cut: check the update that applies to you

GOSH said its local issues after the 5 October power cut were resolved. Here is how to check the right update for your electricity, journey or hospital visit.


Published: · Updated:
Event date: 5 October 2026

Written with AI assistance from the linked sources.

Power Cuts in My Area: London power cut, which update applies to you? Dated 5 October 2026, with icons for home, journey and visit.
Original Power Cuts in My Area illustration.

What the hospital confirmed

Great Ormond Street Hospital said it experienced local issues following the London power outage on Monday 5 October 2026. In a statement displayed as published at 5:29 p.m. that day, the hospital said those issues had been resolved. [1]

The statement gives families a direct account from the hospital. It does not specify which services were affected, how long the issues lasted or whether any appointments changed. Readers should avoid filling those gaps with assumptions about patient care or backup equipment.

City A.M. also reported disruption to offices and transport in London on 5 October. Its coverage provides wider context, but individual organisations remain the relevant source for what happened to their own services. [2]

Three questions that need separate answers

For someone deciding what to do next, our practical reading of these updates is to separate three questions: whether electricity is available at an address, whether a service is operating, and when that information was confirmed. One announcement may answer only one of them.

For an electricity interruption, use the relevant network operator’s incident information and reporting route. UK Power Networks provides postcode search, tracking and reporting on its website. It directs people who cannot use the online service to 0800 31 63 105 or 105. [3]

For a journey or appointment, check the transport operator or organisation involved. A hospital’s statement about its own resolved issues cannot confirm a train service, and an electricity incident update cannot confirm an individual appointment. If plans depend on a particular service, look for a dated update that actually names it.

For timing, distinguish the event date from the update date. Monday’s report describes Monday’s incident. Reading it on Tuesday does not turn it into evidence of an ongoing interruption. Equally, a broad restoration headline is insufficient to establish that a particular home has electricity now.

A useful check before sharing an update

Keep three details together: who issued the update, exactly what place or service it covers, and the date and time it describes. For example, the GOSH statement supports a dated account of the hospital’s reported issues being resolved. It does not support an all-clear for every London address.

Our map can help readers explore the selected network records we cover, with source times and limitations. Its points represent approximate areas. A nearby marker cannot establish an individual property’s supply; an empty map or a vanished record cannot establish restoration. The coverage page explains these limits. [4]

This article records information checked on 6 October about the previous day’s event. We have not independently established a complete affected-property count, a detailed technical cause or an address-by-address restoration timeline. Those omissions matter: a useful update tells readers what is confirmed and where to check the question that remains.

Explore the area map · Read our coverage limits

Sources and evidence

  1. https://www.gosh.nhs.uk/news/message-to-our-patients-and-patient-families-following-london-wide-power-outage/

    Source published: 5 October 2026, 5:29 p.m. (page display; timezone not stated)
    Checked: 6 Oct 2026, 06:48 UK time

  2. https://www.cityam.com/power-cut-leaves-city-offices-in-the-dark/

    Source published: 5 October 2026, 1:52 p.m. (opened page display; timezone not stated)
    Checked: 6 Oct 2026, 06:48 UK time

  3. https://www.ukpowernetworks.co.uk/power-cut

    Source published: Not dated on the source page
    Checked: 6 Oct 2026, 06:48 UK time

  4. https://powercutsinmyarea.com/methodology

    Source published: Not dated on the source page
    Checked: 6 Oct 2026, 06:48 UK time